Learn the Whole Internet in 3 Days and Make a Ton of Moolah!!!!!

Obviously, this is a sarcastic title.

It is impossible to learn the whole internet in any amount of time. I laugh every time I see a site or YouTube video that states you can learn to code in 10 minutes or even a week. Even though they are actually not lying but they are stretching the truth as far as it can be elasticized. One can learn to code Hello World to the browser in ten minutes but how far will that get you? I know, I have looked at these videos when I was first trying to learn how to code. I speak from experience here.

coding

This article is actually a continuation of my previous one on the topic of the confusing world of learning web development. People are always trying to make money off the stupidity or, the ignorance of others. Coding and Design for the web is not unique to these tactics. Lately, I have been watching some YouTubers that are coders or web designers who have gotten out of the business and into the coaching or teaching end. Not teaching how to actually code but how to market yourself or the business aspect of it. Every time I watch these motivators I am always thinking why did they stop coding or designing and become a teacher? Maybe because they found out how hard it is to make it and decided to teach because this is where the real money is. The world of web dev is ever changing that it is much easier to teach or motivate instead. In this way, you can target the whole of the coding community instead of a particular aspect of it. Slick, I know and seemingly lucrative.

 Can we give these coaches the benefit of the doubt?

Can we say that maybe they just love teaching and it is their calling? Yes we can do that and I’m sure this is the case for some but I would bet it’s about the money for most of them. If you ask these people they will say they love to code and it’s what drives them. I then have to ask, why did you stop and start to teach if that is true? I ask questions on these videos and get comments like “Glass half empty?” Of course what else can they say? This turns the whole thing on me and makes me seem like a crotchety non-believer. Their minions can then easily dispose of me and at the same time perpetuate their short comings. Great tactic, one that if I were to defend would only help them because to write a retort would only benefit their chicanery.

It takes a while to learn to code especially if you want to do it well. I was watching a video today where a guy was pulling a question from his comments about this and debating that a person who immerses themselves for 3 months at 8 to 10 hours a day may just be a better programmer than one who has been at it for ten years. What??!! Are you kidding me! Sure I guess you can make this argument if the person who is learning was a prodigy and the veteran was a slap idiot who didn’t learn but only what he needed and was at the same job he has had for ten years. Highly unlikely I would bet. You have to have some large nads to stand up there and pull this off. The issue is that he has to say this to support his business model or everything he is working towards falls apart. His channel, website, and books are worthless if he lets this idea ferment and permeates the coding world. I have seen so many “schools” popping up lately that it must be one hell of a money grabbing scheme to be able to support so many fish.

You could say that I am just jealous. You would be half right in that I am jealous of the success of these businesses but not of how they have gotten there. I wouldn’t want to base my whole business model off of a lie. That is just me though it maybe why I am so damn broke because I will not stoop that low. I could not lie like that especially on camera. you are probably wondering which channels I am talking about and I am tempted to put the names down here but I won’t because I could be wrong. I highly doubt it but you never know and I wouldn’t want to do that to someone. Hell, they may truly believe the trash they are dumping. I highly doubt that as well because if they are smart enough to put that kind of thing together they certainly are smart enough to know they are full of shit. Anyway keep your head up and as always I may be a dumdum but I ain’t stupid! Peace!

Leave a comment