Why?

In this first post I will answer the question why. Why did I end up wanting to and persevering learning to code? I have no simple story but will try to give a higher level view of my reasoning along the way.

About five years ago I was working in construction as an Ironworker. I was a decker on mostly skyscrapers in the downtown area of Chicago. I would always try to work in the Loop because this is where the money is and better, bigger buildings. One day I threw out my back. I knew right away it was bad but at that time I truly thought I would be back. No pun intended. Fast forward a few years, a few back surgeries and I was starting to realize I wasn’t ever going back to my old job. I wasn’t able to actually hold any job anymore. With the restrictions from my Doctors, could not hold a job at all. I can’t stand for more than 15 minutes at a time or sit for more than a half an hour at a time.  I take my walks in the morning and do my stretches and hope that I can move that day without too much pain. I also have other exercises and stretches plus take medications to manage the days. So there I a thinking of what the hell am I going to do then. I can’t just sit and stand, sit and stand for the rest of my life! I had to think of something to keep the ol’ noggin from gettin mushy. Before I was an Ironworker I was a Photographer. Not just a guy taking pictures of friends but an actual paid professional. I always loved photography but at the time they really wanted college graduates. If you wanted to make a move to a bigger shop or get the best jobs you needed that to get you in the door. I didn’t have one and didn’t want one because I was good and already knew what they would have taught me in school so when a construction job became available to me I took it. It was way more money. You know the end of that already.

So there I was with no clue but I knew I loved Photography still and wanted to get back into that. The digital age was here and with the advent of Photoshop I could only imagine the possibilities now. I could take a shot and not really have to be framed properly or have the correct exposure! Back in the day, you could push it a stop in post but that was a pain and I didn’t develop my own stuff. Taking it into the studio and telling them they had to push this or that roll a whole stop made you feel like a real ass so you made sure things were right. For that matter, if things were not right, bad cropping or set up, you didn’t get any more work from that client or studio. I couldn’t believe what you are able to do with a picture these days. It is really freaking amazing when you sit back and realize what we had to go through back then. Back to the story at hand, I got off on a tangent and I am sorry.

At any rate, this is what made me want to learn how to develop web sites. Things have moved on from there quite quickly. I found Muse, by Adobe, first because I am a CC member. If you are a Creative Cloud member you get a shit ton of apps to play with even if you only use few. Adobe has made professional grade software accessible to the masses which is freaking unbelievable. That is for another post though so I will save that one in the back pocket.

I was a CC member and I found Muse and started to mess around trying to throw together my own blog. I wanted to catalog my journey. I did for just a little while until my health caught me and I had to have another surgery so that was on hold but the interest was still there. I picked up again and made a site or two. I then got to a point with it that I couldn’t accomplish what I wanted with a drag and drop program and I found Dreamweaver an IDE. IDE stands for Integrated Development Environment. It helps you learn to actually code. I plugged away at that and made a site or two and then decided I wanted to learn how to make mobile apps. This is where you have found me.

Of course, there is plenty more to this story but if I write it out all today then what will I write tomorrow? So until next time have a great day and happy coding!

Leave a Reply

